Whitelist and Blacklist

Though following users seems very simple, it’s important, especially when using Twitter for business, to follow the right people to build a high quality Twitter community.

Following users helps build a relationship that could be damaged by a number of things, one of which would be to accidentally unfollow them. When unfollowing a large amount of people at once, you could accidentally select one of these important users by mistake. Luckily, with SocialBro’s Whitelist feature, you can protect them by adding them to a whitelist to prevent you from unfollowing accidentally.

Similarly, when cleaning up your Twitter community and unfollowing users, you can choose to add them to your blacklist so that you will not accidentally follow them again in the future.

 

Whitelist – Add users

1. Think about which Twitter users you want to add to your whitelist, for example:

  • Influential people you are following
  • Clients, customers
  • Thought leaders

2. Search for these users.

To select the influential people you are following, use the widget on your dashboard:

Screen Shot 2015-02-03 at 17.47.41

To use a tag you have already created e.g., for customers or clients, select the tag from the tag menu:

ug tags

Perhaps you have a group of attendees for a conference. Import the list from a text file and add them all to the whitelist to ensure that none are accidentally unfollowed.

3. When you have the desired users on your community area, either click and drag a box over multiple users or select individually.

ug selecting

4. Select Add to whitelist from the Selected drop-up menu.

1 add to whitelist

A padlock icon will appear on the user card of those users added to the whitelist.

whitelist padlock

5. Now, when in Follow Mode, you can see which users are on your whitelist (red user cards) and cannot be unfollowed

4 red whitelisted

 

Whitelist – Remove users

1. Select the user(s).

2. Select Remove from whitelist from the Selected drop-up menu.

 

 

 

Blacklist – Add users

1. Think about which Twitter users you want to add to your blacklist, for example:

  • You have unfollowed them and do not wish to follow them again in the future.
  • They are a spammer.
  • They have automatically followed then unfollowed you in an attempt to increase the size of their community.

2. Search for these users.

When looking for users who have automatically followed then unfollowed you, you can select the Recent unfollows widget from your dashboard.

recent unfollows widget

You can also look for people who have unfollowed you in the past by selecting Recent unfollows from Criteria drop-down menu on the dashboard and then using the calendar to select the desired time span.

ug recent unfollows

From the community wall you can use the search/filter sidebar to show those users of low influence or those who haven’t Tweeted in the last six months, for example.

3. When you have the desired users on your community wall, first unfollow them, and then either click and drag a box over multiple users or select them individually.

4. Select Add to blacklist from the Selected drop-up menu, as above.

A skull icon will appear on the user card of those users added to the blacklist.

ug blacklist

Blacklist – Remove users

1. Select the user(s).

2. Select Remove from blacklist from the Selected drop-up menu.

 

You can view the members of your whitelist and blacklist at any time by selecting them from the Criteria drop-down menu on the breadcrumb bar.

ug whitelist criteria

Go to the next section – Block and Mute